The Saskatchewan Arts Board is pleased to announce the short-listed nominees for the 2018 Saskatchewan Arts Awards and the recipient of the Lieutenant Governor’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Presented by the Arts Board, these awards celebrate the contributions and achievements of individuals, groups and organizations in all arts disciplines. Recipients are awarded a limited-edition sculpture by Saskatchewan artist Jody Greenman-Barber and a cash prize.


Ken Mitchell, Regina


Artistic Excellence
Sponsored by the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport

Marjorie Beaucage, Duck Lake
Curtis Peeteetuce, Saskatoon
Laura St. Pierre, Saskatoon

RBC Emerging Artist
Sponsored by RBC

Lisa Bird-Wilson, Saskatoon
Carol Rose Daniels, Regina Beach
Étienne Fletcher, Regina


Arts and Learning
Sponsored by Saskatchewan Arts Board

Bonnie Chapman, Regina
Connie Moker Wernikowski, Regina
Joseph Naytowhow, Saskatoon

Presented in partnership with
Jarislowsky Fraser Partners Foundation

Marian Donnelly, Regina
Felicia Gay, Saskatoon
Shann Gowan, Swift Current

Sponsored by SaskCulture

AKA Artist-Run, Saskatoon
La Troupe du Jour, Saskatoon
Organization of Saskatchewan Arts Councils

Recipients will be announced at the awards event on Thursday, October 25, 2018 at Casino Regina.The Saskatchewan Arts Awards brings artists, arts organizations, patrons of the arts and members of the business community together to celebrate the enormous contributions the arts community makes to our province's quality of life and economy. This year’s event also celebrates the 70th anniversary of the Saskatchewan Arts Board.

The evening’s host is Regina performer Kris Alvarez. Entertainment will include a Chinese Lion Dance by Chung Wah Kung Fu, as well as performances by Chris Henderson, Chancz Perry and Terrance Littletent, andjazz duo Jeremy Sauer and Carlo Petrovic.There will also bea display of artwork from the Saskatchewan Arts Board’s Permanent Collection.

Supporters include Bradbury Brand + Design Experts, Casino Regina, Creative Display, Impact Printers, Jarislowsky Fraser Partners Foundation, Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport, RBC, SaskCulture, Tourism Saskatchewan and Veritiv.

Tickets for the awards are $60 each or $30 for self-declared artists and may be purchased online at

Photo of Ken Mitchell: U of R Photography