Five Saskatchewan artists are the recipients of the Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts Artists Awards. Awards of $6,000 each are offered to artists to create new work or develop works-in-progress over a three-month term. Recipients are:






Indigenous Artist Award

Floyd Favel

Poundmaker First Nation


To begin the analysis and text adaptation and breakdown of the Russian drama, The Cherry Orchard, written by Anton Chekhov, applying and using his Indigenous methods, Native Performance Culture

Literary Artist Award

Anne Lazurko



To work to revise and complete a polished draft of her novel, Mengeti, and begin the submission process to find an agent/publisher

Regina Artist Award

Laura Pettigrew



To compose a work for two flutes and piano for premiere by professional flutists in Georgia and South Carolina, USA, and record it to CD

Female Visual Artist Award

Laura St. Pierre



To create new photographs depicting the activities of a fictive character called the Gardener, who plants gardens in urban junkspaces

Visual Artist Award

Todd Gronsdahl



To build a wooden framework that supports light/sound reflecting cones, in which iPhones perform a sound/light effect he manipulates by text messaging

The Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts (SFFA) is a public foundation dedicated solely to creating a legacy of financial support for the arts and artists in Saskatchewan, through the generous financial

support of individuals, organizations and corporations. The foundation receives donations, bequests and other planned gifts and invests and manages them in perpetuity to generate income which is directed to artists primarily through a donor-specified awards program. The Saskatchewan Foundation for the Arts Artists Awards are administered by the Saskatchewan Arts Board on behalf of the SFFA through an independent jury process and funded through contributions and endowments held in trust by the foundation. Learn more on the SFFA website: